Overfed on Blogs

I love… and hate… this cartoon by Dave Walker (he has so many really great ones). It represents what I have been feeling for some time now. It’s nobody’s fault… just the nature of the beast. I think the title “Overfed” is not quite accurate for me. It is more the “need” I feel to have to read so many blogs – or keep up with them. I don’t think that here is anything intrinsically harmful about reading too much. However, I find that it sometimes takes me away from other, more scholarly reading in journals and other places that I should be keeping up on. I think partly it is a little difficult keeping up with the conversational aspect of blogging. It is one thing to read them, but when you go in and want to maintain active discussions through commenting and then have to go back to all of your comments to see if anyone responded to them… well, it all takes time. I think I just need to pick the few that I want to participate in while having others that I just read. And, I’m not even bringing technologies like Twitter into the picture here. I don’t know…

How do you manage your time with the presence of the blogosphere in your own personal space?

 

Cartoon by Dave Walker. Find more cartoons you can freely re-use on your blog at We Blog Cartoons.

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogging, society, time

3 Comments on “Overfed on Blogs”


  1. Wow – yes! I’ve had this feeling more than a few times in the past little while…

    Great cartoon with commentary that speaks to me 🙂


  2. “How do you manage your time with the presence of the blogosphere in your own personal sphere?”

    Hmmm. Here is a time I wish we could edit a blog comment. I forgot to answer the question you asked.

    For the past month or more, as an education consultant in the summer, I have been at work with very little to do. So I was able to create and keep up with blog ties on a regular basis all day long. I didn’t really need to think about how to manage my time. In a week and a half I will be starting a new job and I will see how I’ll be able to manage my time. It will probably be an early morning thing – I have long ago stopped reading newspapers in the morning. I think that is when I will do most of my bloggy maintenance.

    Tracy
    (McGill Ed, 1996, BTW 😉 )

  3. Stephen Ransom Says:

    Yes… I, too, will see life pick up pace with a new job starting in a few weeks. It will be interesting to see how things go with being an active participant. Funny how connections are made, isn’t it? McGill B.MusEd., 1990, McGill DipEd. 1991 😉


Leave a Reply

